|||The game board from the card game "Kampf um Rom" show the cultural Achievements acquired, developed or lost again during the European time period from the 4th to the 10th Century AD. The number in each space indicates the value of that particular Achievement (counting towards victory).|
|||Each Achivements space are connected by solid black lines with arrowheads pointing towards one or two other Achievement spaces. The lines indicates the historical proces the developments followed.|
From the "basic achievements" on the left side of the board (JAGD, VIEHSUCHT, ACKERBAU, MEERESFISCHFANG, each with a value of 10) or from the Religions further below (6 rectangles each valued 20) may further Achievements of higher value be developed by following the connecting lines.
|||The goal is to occupy as many of the highest valued boxes with tokens of your own color ("developing achievements"). Tokens from other players may be removed (destroyed) through the play of Invasion- or Catatrophe cards.|
|||How do you develop an Achievement?
On each of the cards 1-51 are there printed three Achievements with capital letters which may be developed. You choose one of them when you play the card in your turn. You then place one of your tokens in the corresponding Achievement box and return the card to the discard pile.
All Achievements that may be developed through play of a card has as rectangular box with square corners and their names written in CAPITALS (examples: JAGD, STEINBAUWEISE, FERNHANDEL, RÖMISCHES RECHT). Other Achievements does not have corresponding cards (ie. "Mittelalterliche landwirtschaft"). They have light colored boxes with rounded corners, and they may be developed by the play of any Development or Invasion card (remember the limit of 1 token per box! Combat methods (oval boxes) are discussed on page 6).
|[5a]||Which Achievements may be developed by a player?
To place a token in an Achievement box of higher value must the player first have placed one of his tokens in the Achievements boxes of lower value which leads up to this Achievement.The player must be able to trace an unbroken line of arrows from a basic Achievement to the new box. If the player for example, has a token in the "ACKERBAU" space may he (by playing the corresponding card) develop "STEINBAUWEISE" and place a token in that space. In order to be able to develop "STEIGBÜGEL" must the player first have placed tokens in the spaces "VIEHZUCHT","SATTEL" and "Reiterkampf".
|[5b]||Dotted lines indicates that both exit-spaces must have a token of the players color for the new space to be developed (ie. "VIEHZUCHT" and "ACKERBAU" in order to develop "KUMMETGESCHIRR").
Some connections has an arrow in both ends indicating that either Achievement may be the prerequisite for the other. If you have developed "MEERESFISCHFANG", "SCHIFFAHRT" and "FERNHANDEL", you may develop "STEINBAUWEISE" without having acquired "ACKERBAU".
In order to develop a Religion must the player have at least 3 tokens on other Achievement spaces.
|||The Achievements of other players may be destroyed by playing Catastrope or Invasion cards.
The effects of the Catastrophes are described in the lower right corner of the game board.
Invasion cards enables the player to perform two actions in his turn. Each card lists 3 Achievements in the same way as the normal Development cards. The player may remove a token from any one of these spaces and also develop one of the Achievements following the normal rules. You may remove a player's token from a box and immediately develop the same box yourself.
|||A player may prevent the destructions from Invasion or Catastrope cards, when he has developed Combat Methods. To do this he simply discards any Development or Invasion card from his hand. In addition he must flip one of his tokens in any Combat Method space over (invalidating the token). A player may prevent and action, but does not have to.|
|53||All tokens from VIEHZUCHT. The active player may retain one token there.|
|54||All tokens from ACKERBAU. The active player may retain one token there.|
|55||One token from one Religion, or: The player may switch any number of own or foreign tokens between two vertically adjacent Religion spaces.|
|56||One token from STEINBAUWEISE or FERNHANDEL or Hauptstadt.|
|57||One token from any space (with exception of Religions and Combat Methods).|
|58||All tokens from MEERESFISCHFANG. The player may retain one token there. Or he may remove one token from SCHIFFAHRT.|
|59||Two tokens of different colors from any one or two spaces (with the exception of Religion and Combat Methods). Only 1 token is removed in a 3-player game!|